Hello world!
September 3rd, 2021 · 3 min read
Open garden with spare trees and a cityline backdrop
A cool photo of the Japanese Imperial Palace gardens by myself

Welcome to my humble abode 🏠

Yes, I know. You probably had to travel far and wide and stalk me on a variety of platforms but you ended up here!

If you don't know already, I'm John, a current third year at UNSW studying Computer Science and a hopeful (but exhausted) software developer. This place that you have stumbled upon is my own little place on the internet to talk about things I find interesting (or to rant about stuff I find less so) so I hope you come along for the ride :).

Animated mongoose looking around
Me right now

I've been meaning to create something like this for a very long time now, probably ever since I started studying computer science almost 3 years ago. I've always had been curious about how people and companies can get their own blogs and content up and running and let them be updated live.

And so, after a long time of acquiring skills and waiting for enough free time I decided to create it. I had wanted to steer away from using WordPress and so sanity.io was the best pick after I decided to finally start it!

This entire website was made based on the provided gatsby starter and is something that I will continue to make better.

It is built with Gatsby, React and styled with styled-components alongside the provided PostCSS that will eventually be phased out. All of the content is managed via sanity.io and their GraphQL based system. This has all been packaged up into one repository somewhere located on GitHub and deployed via Vercel (my new favourite way to personal apps). The comments themselves are handled separately via GiTalk, with all comments converging on this public repository that I created.

Some features that I've also enabled for the blog that wasn't available from the get-go were stuff like strikethrough, underlining, code and youtube embedded videos (last two below).

const hello = () => {
  console.log("Hello World!");
}

hello();

There's a lot that I plan to use this site for, from my projects and technical interests, all the way to cooking up new recipes in the Kitchen. Hopefully, you can stay interested enough in my content and follow along in my journey through life.

Have fun browsing!